Graffiti

Graffiti for your face

Graffiti. It’s everywhere you look, these days, right? It turns a bus stop into a canvas, a decayed wall into a pamphlet, a passing train into a cry for love. It is the means par excellence to give your ‘name’ a ‘face’ on the street. And it’s been around for a long time, just ask those Romans (weird guys, by the way). With large letters in bright colours, graffiti is the distinct reflection of a personal opinion and an identity: bold, bright, often rebellious, and always upfront. No wonder we've been hooked on it for a while already at theo.

Especially those puffy, marshmallow-like letters that - because of their expressive and flexible design language - are very recognisable and symbolic of the genre. They were used for the first time by the New York graffiti artist ‘Phase 2’ in the late 1970s. And that 'bubble-letter' or 'softie' would soon become extremely influential and is regarded in the art form as a 'gigantic leap'.


Reason enough for theo to give your identity on the street and everywhere else a face. And you can take that quite literally. Your nose a canvas, your glasses a tag, the street as social medium. With a theo from the Graffiti collection on your nose you automatically have 'street cred'. La beauté est dans la rue.*

*Beauty is in the streets.

These three frames that combine stainless steel with acetate as an ode to the marshmallow letter are available in a range of 8 theo colours.

 

This collection is
theo
Click here for more theo! Yum!!

Piece

Tag

Throwie

Graffiti

Des Graffiti pour votre visage

Les Graffiti. On tombe dessus partout, pas vrai ? Ils transforment un arrêt de bus en toile, un mur dégradé en pamphlet, une rame défilant à toute vitesse en invitation à l’amour. Ils sont une façon de donner un « visage » à votre « nom » dans la rue. Et ils existent depuis très longtemps ! Posez donc la question aux Romains (d’étranges jeunes gens du reste). En lettres grand format et couleurs vives, les graffitis sont le reflet délibéré d’une opinion personnelle et d’une identité : audacieusement bariolés, souvent rebelles et sans jamais mâcher leurs mots. Rien d’étonnant à ce qu’il y en ait plein chez theo et depuis longtemps.

En particulier, les lettres gonflées, semblables à des chamallows, qui, par leur esthétique expressive et souple, sont parfaitement reconnaissables et symboliques du genre. Elles ont été utilisées pour la première fois à la fin des années 70 par le graffiteur new-yorkais ‘Phase 2’. Cette ‘lettre-bulle’ ou ‘softie’ allait très vite devenir extraordinairement influente et allait être considérée comme un ‘pas de géant’ dans cette forme d’art.

Voilà donc pourquoi theo a voulu donner un visage à cette identité propre dans la rue et partout ailleurs. Littéralement. Votre nez comme toile, vos lunettes comme tag, la rue comme réseau social. Avec des theo de la collection Graffiti sur le nez, la ‘street cred’ est automatiquement à vous. La beauté est dans la rue.

Ces trois lunettes qui associent l’acier inoxydable et l’acétate comme hymne à la gloire de la lettre chamallow sont disponibles dans un éventail de couleurs theo.

 

Cette collection est
theo
Click here for more theo! Yum!!

Piece

Tag

Throwie